Education Scholarships

Education Sables Scholarship

Recognizing a need to increase the number of women working in the field of wildlife ecology, Sables, a membership group within Safari Club International, developed and funded endowed scholarships at five universities that select young women majoring in wildlife ecology as scholarship recipients.


Each university selects scholarship recipients majoring in wildlife ecology or related major. Scholarship winners are offered an opportunity to attend the SCI Convention where they meet those who founded the scholarships and learn more about SCI. Applications for these scholarships may be requested directly from the participating university. Sables Hunting Heritage Scholarship endowments are established at the following five universities:

  • Texas A & M University – SCI Foundation Sables Hunting Heritage Scholarship
  • West Virginia University – C.J. McElroy Hunting Heritage Scholarship
  • University of Idaho – Elaine & Gus Vogeler Hunting Heritage Scholarship
  • Unity College, Maine – Joe Leta Hunting Heritage Scholarship
  • University of Montana – Susan and John Monson Hunting Heritage Scholarship

In addition, SCI Foundation has provided more than $780,000 in scholarships since its inception to both male and female college students who have enrolled in natural resource management or conservation education related fields.


Mitchell Hamline University Law School Scholarship

This scholarship was established through partnership of the Minnesota SCI Chapter and SCI Foundation in memory of Dr. Don McMillan.

The purpose of the scholarship fund is to assist Hamline School of Law in providing tuition scholarships in memory of Don McMillan to one or more rising second or third year law school students with demonstrated interest in hunting and fishing, supporting the use of hunting as a tool for sustainable wildlife management and conservation, and preserving hunters’ rights. The scholarship’s recipient(s) will be selected based on the criteria outlined in the scholarship application by a person or persons designated by the Dean of the School of Law.  The scholarship may be renewed.  Scholarship applications may be obtained from Hamline University.